HOME

ABOUT

CONTEXT

CURRENT TV SCHEDULE

Current TV Schedule

Recent Past Program Notices

INDEX GUEST LISTING BY NAME 01-01-73 TO 06-30-11

Public AccessTV, A Systems Consideration Graphics

Current Financial Crisis Oct., 2008

Autodidact Tutorials

Keynes Letter to Grandchildren 1930

Synergetic Educational Manifesto 1970

Carbon 60 # 1

ACAP - The Association of Cable Access Producers

ACAP Site Linkwww.acaptv.net

The Works of Civilazation

Aymara Cultural Hearth

FEEDBACK

LINKS

CONTACT

 

 

 

 

 

Cablecast and web streaming of program in serieS

    "Conversations with Harold Hudson Channer"

              Upcoming Cable Television/Web Show: 

        For details of airing see bottom of page

              Guest For  Thursday October 30, 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                         GUEST:

                               SETH FARBER Ph.D

                       

     

               Anti Establishment Psychologist

           Author of Many works including:

    

 "Madness, Heresy, and the Rumor of Angels"

 

"Radicals, Rabbis and Peacemakers:Conversations with Jewish Critics of Israel"

and very hopefully soon to be forthcoming

"Lunching with Lunatics - Adventures of a

Renegade Psychologist"

www.sethhfarber.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

The program can be viewed in its entirety by clicking the you tube link below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yre8cqE9Rd4 - SETH FARBER Ph.D

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

More about: SETH FARBER Ph.D

Seth Farber, Ph.D.

  Home   Works   Links   Discussion    
 

 
 

 
 

Biography

Dr. Seth Farber, is a psychologist (he received his doctorate in 1984), a social activist (both in the human rights and anti-war movements) and founder of the Network Against Coercive Psychiatry. He has had four books published previously, including a book critiquing Zionism, and numerous essays and articles. A critic of the mental health system, he has been a guest on many television and radio shows. His first book Madness, Heresy and the Rumor of Angels:The Revolt Against the Mental Health System(Open Court, Chicago, 1993) contained a foreword by Thomas Szasz. The publication of his book Lunching with Lunatics: Adventures of a Renegade Psychologist has been temporarily postponed due to circumstances beyond his control. (See excerpts.) Dr Farber is also an editor of the pioneering review The Journal of Mind and Behavior, and is currently working on a book on "mad liberation" and the new spirituality. Farber founded the Network Against Coercive Psychiatry in 1988.
 


 
 

 

Selected Works

Nonfiction
Madness, Heresy, and the Rumor of Angels: The Revolt Against the Mental Health System
A work in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R.D. Laing, Michel Foucault and Erving Goffman, a challenge to the delusional belief-system known as psychiatry; and a protest against its appalling crimes.
Eternal Day: The Christian Alternative to Secularism and Modern Psychology (Regina Press, 1998)
A critique of psychoanalysis and the medical model model of psychology as a form of secularized Augustinianism. Augustinianism, with its insistence on predestination and eternal damnation, was an inversion of the original Christian teaching of human freedom to respond to infinite grace and the promise of universal salvation.
Unholy Madness: The Church's Surrender to Psychiatry (InterVarsity Press,1999)
"An important book."
--Thomas Szasz, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, State University of New York Health Science Center; author of The Myth of Mental Illness
(Click on title above to read excerpt from book.)
Radicals, Rabbis and Peacemakers:Conversations with Jewish Critics of Israel (Common Courage Press, 2005)
The contributors are among the leading American Jewish critics of Zionism and of Israel's policies towards the Palestinians: Noam Chomsky, Norman Finkelstein, Marc Ellis, Adam Shapiro, Phyllis Bennis, Rabbi Weiss and 6 others.
Psychiatry Today (2001)
Excerpt (slightly altered) from essay in Review of Existential Psychology and Psychiatry (2001, 25th Anniversary Issue) "Against Psychotherapy and Biological Psychiatry"
Organization
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry is an organization comprised of psychotherapists (including psychiatrists), survivors of psychiatric incarceration (commonly known as "mental patients"), scholars and other concerned citizens.
Pending memoir. Non-fiction.
Lunching with Lunatics:Adventures of a Renegade Psychologist.
After years of practicing therapy,Dr Farber-- a psychologist in the tradition of his hero, radical psychiatrist R.D. Laing-- concludes that mental illness is a myth and that "schizophrenics," although often troubled, are the vanguard of a cultural revolution. Farber falls in love with Carla, and a few years later with Lily, both "schizophrenics." (Neither were patients of his.) These two crazy women are so intelligent and charismatic that their personalities burst through the stereotype of "mental illness." Farber talks to crazy people in their own language. Psychiatrists call it "schizophrenese" but Farber calls it the language of dreams, of poetry, of magic. Farber's dogged romantic persistence makes us wonder whether he is a brilliant visionary or a crackpot himself--or both. This is an inspiring story, profound in its implications--it is an affirmation of a vision of life beyond the dichotomies of sanity and insanity as we know them.

 
 

Created by The Authors Guild

A note for users of older versions of Internet Explorer, Netscape, or AOL:
This site will look a lot better in a newer browser. Download one for free!
Internet Explorer: Windows Mac   |   Netscape: Windows Mac Other
For AOL users, please choose Internet Explorer above.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                    Thursday October 30, 2008 

                                 10:30 - 11:30 AM  / (NYC Time)

                 Channel 34 of the Time/Warner & Channel 83of the RCN 
                       Cable Television Systems in Manhattan, New York.

The Program can now be viewed on the internet at time of cable casting at

                                              www.mnn.org

                  NOTE: You must adjust viewing to reflect NYC time

                                          & click on channel 34 at site

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------