HOME

ABOUT

CONTEXT

CURRENT TV SCHEDULE

Current TV Schedule

Recent Past Program Notices

INDEX GUEST LISTING BY NAME 01-01-73 TO 06-30-11

Public AccessTV, A Systems Consideration Graphics

Current Financial Crisis Oct., 2008

Autodidact Tutorials

Keynes Letter to Grandchildren 1930

Synergetic Educational Manifesto 1970

Carbon 60 # 1

ACAP - The Association of Cable Access Producers

ACAP Site Linkwww.acaptv.net

The Works of Civilazation

Aymara Cultural Hearth

FEEDBACK

LINKS

CONTACT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Cablecast and web streaming of program in serieS

      "Conversations with Harold Hudson Channer"

            Upcoming Cable Television/Web Show: 

          For details of airing see bottom of page

               Guest For  FRIDAY JUNE 6,  2008 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                         NOTE

       Due to a mix up with the server the site may not display correctly.

                   We sincerely hope the trouble will be corrected soon.

          Below is a much abbreviated notice. Thanks for your patience.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                   GUEST:

 

NOTE: Due to the special program of the Opening Session of the National Conference for Media Reform from Minneapolis Minnesota, the Conversations program with Seth Farber Ph.D, originally scheduled for Friday June 6, was preempted to carry the very important live feed of the conference.  The program with  Dr. Farber will be aired next Friday June 13.

                                       Thank you for your patience.  H.H.C.

 
                                   
        (Originally aired: 09-21-98)

 

                                   SETH  FARBER PhD

            

  

 

   

 

                       Maverick Psychologist

 

                  

 

 Founder: Network Against Coercive Psychiatry

 

                                    

Author:  Eternal Day: The Christian Alternative to       

           Secularism and Modern Psychology" 

         (1998 - The work under primary discussion in the program)

 

                               www.sethhfarber.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  The program can be viewed in its entirety by clicking the you tube link below:

     Seth Farber PhD - Air Date: 09-21-98

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More about SETH FARBER PhD

 

Dr. Seth Farber, is a psychologist (he received his doctorate in 1984), a social activist (both in the human rights and anti-war movements) and founder of the Network Against Coercive Psychiatry. He has had four books published previously, including a book critiquing Zionism, and numerous essays and articles. A critic of the mental health system, he has been a guest on many television and radio shows. His first book Madness, Heresy and the Rumor of Angels:The Revolt Against the Mental Health System(Open Court, Chicago, 1993) contained a foreword by Thomas Szasz. The publication of his book Lunching with Lunatics: Adventures of a Maverick Psychologist has been temporarily postponed due to circumstances beyond his control. Dr Farber is also an editor of the pioneering review The Journal of Mind and Behavior, and is currently working on a book on "mad liberation" and the new spirituality. Farber founded the Network Against Coercive Psychiatry in 1988

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Seth Farber, Ph.D.

  Home   Works   Links   Discussion    
 

 
 

 
 

Biography

Dr. Seth Farber, is a psychologist (he received his doctorate in 1984), a social activist (both in the human rights and anti-war movements) and founder of the Network Against Coercive Psychiatry. He has had four books published previously, including a book critiquing Zionism, and numerous essays and articles. A critic of the mental health system, he has been a guest on many television and radio shows. His first book Madness, Heresy and the Rumor of Angels:The Revolt Against the Mental Health System(Open Court, Chicago, 1993) contained a foreword by Thomas Szasz. The publication of his book Lunching with Lunatics: Adventures of a Maverick Psychologist has been temporarily postponed due to circumstances beyond his control. Dr Farber is also an editor of the pioneering review The Journal of Mind and Behavior, and is currently working on a book on "mad liberation" and the new spirituality. Farber founded the Network Against Coercive Psychiatry in 1988.
 


 
 

 

Selected Works

Nonfiction
Madness, Heresy, and the Rumor of Angels: The Revolt Against the Mental Health System
A work in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R.D. Laing, Michel Foucault and Erving Goffman, a challenge to the delusional belief-system known as psychiatry; and a protest against its appalling crimes.
Eternal Day: The Christian Alternative to Secularism and Modern Psychology (Regina Press, 1998)
A critique of psychoanalysis and the medical model model of psychology as a form of secularized Augustinianism. Augustinianism, with its insistence on predestination and eternal damnation, was an inversion of the original Christian teaching of human freedom to respond to infinite grace and the promise of universal salvation.
Unholy Madness: The Church's Surrender to Psychiatry (InterVarsity Press,1999)
"An important book."
--Thomas Szasz, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, State University of New York Health Science Center; author of The Myth of Mental Illness
(Click on title above to read excerpt from book.)
Radicals, Rabbis and Peacemakers:Conversations with Jewish Critics of Israel (Common Courage Press, 2005)
The contributors are among the leading American Jewish critics of Zionism and of Israel's policies towards the Palestinians: Noam Chomsky, Norman Finkelstein, Marc Ellis, Adam Shapiro, Phyllis Bennis, Rabbi Weiss and 6 others.
Psychiatry Today (2001)
Excerpt (slightly altered) from essay in Review of Existential Psychology and Psychiatry (2001, 25th Anniversary Issue) "Against Psychotherapy and Biological Psychiatry"
Organization
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry is an organization comprised of psychotherapists (including psychiatrists), survivors of psychiatric incarceration (commonly known as "mental patients"), scholars and other concerned citizens.

 
 

Created by The Authors Guild

A note for users of older versions of Internet Explorer, Netscape, or AOL:
This site will look a lot better in a newer browser. Download one for free!
Internet Explorer: Windows Mac   |   Netscape: Windows Mac Other
For AOL users, please choose Internet Explorer above.

 

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seth Farber, Ph.D.

  Home   Works   Links   Discussion    
 


 
 

Eternal Day ( Regina Press, 1998)

Dr Farber argues that the archetype of the flawed soul tainted by original sin underlies the contemporary concept of "mental illness" or psychopathology. Classical and modern psychoanalytical theories constitute a secularized version of the Augustinian pseudo-Christian narrative of sin and damnation. Thus Freud's claim to have liberated psychology from religious superstition is spurious. Biological psychiatry like Freudianism claims to have finally freed itself from superstition--Farber debunks this claim. As an alternative to the misanthropic anthropology that underlies over two centuries of psychology and psychiatry, Farber elaborates a Christian humanist metanarrative based on reverence for humanity and all creation -- a narrative rooted in faith in the divine promise (Isaiah, Jesus) of infinite love and immortal life.


 
 

 

Selected Works

Nonfiction
Madness, Heresy, and the Rumor of Angels: The Revolt Against the Mental Health System
A work in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R.D. Laing, Michel Foucault and Erving Goffman, a challenge to the delusional belief-system known as psychiatry; and a protest against its appalling crimes.
Eternal Day: The Christian Alternative to Secularism and Modern Psychology (Regina Press, 1998)
A critique of psychoanalysis and the medical model model of psychology as a form of secularized Augustinianism. Augustinianism, with its insistence on predestination and eternal damnation, was an inversion of the original Christian teaching of human freedom to respond to infinite grace and the promise of universal salvation.
Unholy Madness: The Church's Surrender to Psychiatry (InterVarsity Press,1999)
"An important book."
--Thomas Szasz, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, State University of New York Health Science Center; author of The Myth of Mental Illness
(Click on title above to read excerpt from book.)
Radicals, Rabbis and Peacemakers:Conversations with Jewish Critics of Israel (Common Courage Press, 2005)
The contributors are among the leading American Jewish critics of Zionism and of Israel's policies towards the Palestinians: Noam Chomsky, Norman Finkelstein, Marc Ellis, Adam Shapiro, Phyllis Bennis, Rabbi Weiss and 6 others.
Psychiatry Today (2001)
Excerpt (slightly altered) from essay in Review of Existential Psychology and Psychiatry (2001, 25th Anniversary Issue) "Against Psychotherapy and Biological Psychiatry"
Organization
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry is an organization comprised of psychotherapists (including psychiatrists), survivors of psychiatric incarceration (commonly known as "mental patients"), scholars and other concerned citizens.

 
 

Created by The Authors Guild

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                          Friday June 6, 2008

                                 10:30 - 11:30 AM  / (NYC Time)

                 Channel 34 of the Time/Warner & Channel 83 of the RCN 
                       Cable Television Systems in Manhattan, New York.

The Program can now be viewed on the internet at time of cable casting at

                                              www.mnn.org

                  NOTE: You must adjust viewing to reflect NYC time

                                          & click on channel 34 at site

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------